One day in Quito 

Spending one day in Quito I started the day having breakfast close to the Alameda Park where my hostel was located. I stayed in La Rosaria and am quite happy with my choice as I got a nice single room for a good price and it’s close to the Ecovia bud stop Simon Bolivar. 

From there I went to visit the Basilica and then went uphill taking a taxi (cost 2$) up to the Panecillo statue from where you have a astonishing view over South and Northern Quito. From there you can easily walk down taking the steps and you will arrive just in the old town, Unesco world heritage. The district is beautiful, you can see different types of architecture, mixed new and old styles with a lot of churches and houses with patios which make you feel almost like you would be in Spain. 

From there you can also visit some neighbourhoods around and then later have local lunch at mercado central. Just in front of the market there is a bus taking you north.  As it was still early afternoon I went till Parque La Carolina and went for a walk. Within the park you can also visit Quitos botanical garden, rent small boats or play basketball. There is plenty to do or you just sit and relax. 

Food tasted so far in Ecuador is nice and cheap with more variety than in Colombia. 

Buses are cheap (25 cents within the city, 2$ to the airport) and run every few minutes. 

I read that you eventually need some days to get used to the altitude but I hadn’t any troubles. It also wasn’t as cold as expected and I got even some sun in the morning. 

I didn’t had much time but Quito is a great place to visit with lots of nice plazas, parks and amazing and differing architecture. 

There are also some yoga studios but unfortunately I didn’t had the time to visit then. Generally there are more located in the Northern end. As an example I would like to mention http://www.yogapuramente.com which offer several classes every day.


Leave a Reply

