One day in Lisbon

Once again I am in Lisbon, I spent here some wmany days in the past years it already feels like my second home in some way. I know most of the neighbourhoods and I usually spend the day walking around the city which is what I would recommend to anyone visiting Lisbon. If you just follow your guide you will surely miss the coolest spots, being it vintage stores, creative markets, old buildings or great miradouros where you can get an amazing view over the City so as for example from Castelo de São Jorge or from the Miradouro da Senhora do Monte. You can walk by the riverside and sitting down close to Terreiro dos Paços where usually someone is playing guitar creating a special atmosphere. Even so weather was quite bad, there are plenty of tourists in town. If possible for you, avoid weekends and high seasons as it might get crowed. For eating a different place is Arco da Velha a friend recommended me or any restaurant starting it’s name with Tasca which means you will get local food usually less expensive than the tourist places. Besides food and self made ice cream in form of a flower (so tasty, I had Coco and Caramelo and loved it), Lisbon is also great for shopping. There are so many small boutiques and markets and prices are totally fine. On one of the markets I bought myself an yantra bronze collar for 13€ 🙂
Hostel wise I stayed in so many different ones, if you need an advise just contact me as every one had its pros and cons- I never stayed twice in the same place but this doesn’t mean that I wasn’t happy with the hostel.
A one day tour (I just made) could me like the following: starting close to el Corte Inglês and visiting the two parks in that area. Then going down to the center through avendida da libertade, wander around the center, sitting down at the river, going to Cais de Sodre and having lunch there. Later some shopping in Chiado, Bairro Alto and visiting some more parks. From there I went back north to the hostel I was staying close to Amoreiras Shopping Center.
Alfama is also definitely worth a visit and then you have several other sightseeing points close by like Sintra, Belém, Cascais or Setúbal. In case you have a car and would like to go to a beach close by, Costa da Caparica is the place to be.
Now it’s time to go up north, spending a week in Peniche.

Leave a Reply

